08 Jul

Yellow House Publishing are delighted to announce the winners of the Shipyard Writers Competition 2024 as part of EastSide Arts Festival Summer Yard Sessions (Booking). We thank all of the contributors who have their work published in New Isles Press Issue 3. 


David Butler 1st Prize short story "White Spirits" 

David Butler’s novel City of Dis (New Island) was shortlisted for the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year, 2015. Arlen House published his second story collection, Fugitive, in 2021. His latest novel, Jabberwock, was published under pen-name Dara Kavanagh by Dedalus Books in 2023. Awards for the short story include the Maria Edgeworth (twice), Benedict Kiely, Colm Tóibín, ChipLit Fest, ITT/Redline and Fish International.

Angela Graham 2nd Prize Ulster Scots Poem "On Reading John Erskine's Tha Merle Bi Lagan's Loch.

Angela Graham’s debut poetry collection Sanctuary There Must Be Somewhere was published in 2020. Her short story collection A City Burning (2022) is published by Seren Books. She won the Poetry Prize in the Linen Hall Ulster-Scots Writing Competition, 2021. Her poetry collection Star will be launched in July 2024 from Culture and Democracy Press.

Lucia Kenny 3rd Prize Poem "Building Walls" 

Lucia Kenny was born in Larne Co. Antrim. Lucia is a member of two writing groups and has had her poetry published in magazines and anthologies, including The Dawn Treader and Poetry Ireland Review.

* The email will not be published on the website.